nasaforums.com

Official Forums of the National Auto Sport Association
It is currently Wed Jul 23, 2014 4:31 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jun 23, 2012 7:56 am 
Offline
Forum Hot Lapper
Forum Hot Lapper
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2004 8:28 am
Posts: 147
Location: VA
What diff types of systems ie: PC laptop ect..... are you guys using for iRacing or other sims?

On iRacings site they give you minimum requierments dual core cpu +++ nividia 8800 +++. If you have the min req and the guy racing beside you has the best graphics card and an intel i7 cpu / quad core ect...... will he have a competitve advantage over you?, kinda like real racing the best setup, best equip, best prepared team, against a shoe string budget used equipment. ????


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 11:25 am 
Offline
Forum Hot Lapper
Forum Hot Lapper
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 11:38 am
Posts: 58
As long as you connection is good and your frame rate is steady, a faster machine is probably not mcuh of an advanatge. A better wheel & pedals would probably make more difference.

I started with a Core 2 Duo and an ATI 4870, now have a i7 and a 5850 with 3 22" monitors.

_________________
Bruce F
'04 Subaru WRX STi
Spec Racer Ford


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 12:47 pm 
Offline
Forum Hot Lapper
Forum Hot Lapper
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2004 8:28 am
Posts: 147
Location: VA
Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2012 4:04 am 
Offline
Forum Time Trialer
Forum Time Trialer

Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2004 4:29 pm
Posts: 165
Location: GA
If you're looking for a PC I have one that I bought as a basis to mod for iRacing, it has a dual core AMD processor, 80GB hard drive, DVD drive, currently only 1GB of ram, NVIDIA chip set, throw some more ram in it and a video card and it will run iRacing just fine, I ran the same setup a while back with a 512mb video card and 3gb of ram. Asking $150 obo.

Comes with a clean copy of XP installed, discs included. (It's a Vista computer but I prefer XP)

_________________
Mazda RX-7


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2012 10:01 pm 
Offline
Forum Time Trialer
Forum Time Trialer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2010 3:53 pm
Posts: 287
I have an Intel Q9300 2.5 GHz with 4 GB RAM and a Nvidia 9800GTX+ video card with 512 MB RAM (a few years old so a bit slower than what is out today), and it works just fine with the video quality turned to max. I am also connected to my DSL router via wired ethernet dual gigabit LAN. I use a Logitech G27 steering wheel set. If you have a machine that is a few years old the best bang for your buck is to upgrade your video card and add some system RAM.

A good high-speed broadband connection is key. If you are on wi-fi, try to connect your computer directly via ethernet LAN to a router if you can since a weak wi-fi signal will cause a bottleneck. These are the most important things for good performance. If you ever see a car that sporatically disappears and reappears on track that means their frame rate is slow, and usually the system kicks them off. A faster rig will not have a competitive advantage other than uninterrupted and smooth play.

_________________
Ken S.
NASA-SE HPDE1+

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group