nasaforums.com

Official Forums of the National Auto Sport Association
It is currently Fri Apr 20, 2018 12:23 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2016 2:01 am 
Forum Spectator
Forum Spectator

So, since it'll be TTB no more, but E46 M3 needs to find a new home.

Since I'm new to the modification factor scheme and power/weight classing, is this correct:

2004 BMW M3 (E46) Coupe; base class is "ST" (from PT rules)
3385lbs ~ 285hp (unconfirmed) = 11.9

Modification factors:
+0.1 Vehicle weight >3300lbs
+0.3 Tire size 255
+0.4 OEM Aero
= 11.9 + 0.1 + 0.3 + 0.4 = 12.7 = ST4

In TTB, I was pretty tight on points on my still street driven car and could not consider Aero.
However, assuming that the ST rules will be the same/similar for TT, it seems like I would basically NEED Aero to be competitive with the car to get me closer to the 12.0 (aero would get me to 12.3 then).

So if my calculation and assumptions are correct, I'll need to throw money at the car to remain competitive.
TTC does not seem to be an option for an E46 M3 with decent tires.

Correct?
Also, any news on TT rules for 2017? :)

PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2016 7:56 am 
Forum Spectator
Forum Spectator

I don't have a good answer for you, but I've come to tell you it's average hp for the ratio and not your peak hp :D

Max hp + 3 highest hp data points 500rpm apart, divide by 4 = Avg hp

PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2016 1:29 pm 
Forum Spectator
Forum Spectator

Yes, understood.
So that will make it even worse....

My power/weight ratio will be so high that I would have to seriously throw money at the problem to try to make the car faster. Loose 300lbs somehow? Add 50hp? Big brakes, Aero, Lexan windows, carbon everything?

Remember, this car is still street driven and had a great home in TTB.
TTC is not an option (car's base class is "ST"). So, where do I go from here?

PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2016 5:10 pm 
Forum Spectator
Forum Spectator